Diary

 

President – David Henderson

Secretary – Andrew McMillan

Speakers’ Secretary – Paul Ralph

Meetings: Start with a meal at 8 pm at Ye Olde Windmill Inn, Windmill Lane, Gentleshaw, WS15 4NF (Tel: 01543 682468). Unless otherwise stated for an individual meeting.

  • Latest changes: Are highlighted.


 

Date and time of event Nature of event Comment
Wed 10 Oct Conviviality

 

 
12-14 Oct District Conference in Liverpool

 

 
Mon or Tues

15/16 Oct

Delivering Poppy Trays / collecting tins to pubs / shops etc  
Wed 17 Oct Speaker Les Mason from RC Kidsgrove Talking about the Local Mining Industry and Apedale Heritage Centre
Sat 20 Oct Murder/Mystery Evening

 

Cannock Wood / Gentleshaw Village Hall
Wed 24 Oct Rotary – World Polio Day

 

 
Wed 24 Oct Conviviality or Leah speaking about RYLA experience Partners and guests welcome
Sun 27 Oct – Sun 11 Nov Poppy Appeal at Morrison’s Burntwood Volunteers required
Wed 31 Oct Conviviality Evening or Leah Speaking about RYLA experience Partners and guests welcome
Wed 7 Nov Speaker Kate Hadley & ECHO

Medical Detection Dog

 

Partners and guests welcome

 

Mon / Tues 12 / 13 Nov Collect Trays and Collecting tins from Pubs / Shops etc  
Mon 12 Nov Foundation Seminar

 

7pm Mercure Hotel Penkridge
Wed 14 Nov Xmas Planning / Business Committee  
Sun 18 Nov Erect Xmas Banners/Signs and Float clean Volunteers required
Wed 21 Nov District Council Meeting

 

7:15pm Mercure Hotel Penkridge
Wed 21 Nov Speaker Jayne Tinson from NatWest Bank “Internet Security” Partners and guests welcome
Sun 25 Nov Tree of Light Switch on

 

 
Mon 26 Nov Burntwood TC lights switch on Bells Lane Boney Hay Santa Float with Santa / Driver and one Collector for 1800hrs-1930hrs
Wed 28 Nov Burntwood TC lights switch on High Street Chasetown Santa Float with Santa / Driver and one Collector for 1800hrs-1930hrs
Wed 28 Nov Speaker from Cannock & Burntwood Community 1st Responders Partners and Guests Welcome
Sat 1 Dec Chasewater 10k run

 

8-10 Volunteers for car parking duties required
Sat 1 Dec Santa Float Tesco’s 10am – 7pm Santa and 2 collectors on each shift, plus driver to deliver and collect float
Sun 2 Dec Santa Float Ruston Rd Estate Meet at unit 5pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors for each street collection
Mon 3 Dec Santa Float Warren Rd Meet at unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Tue 4 Dec Santa Float Oakdene Estate Meet at unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Wed 5 Dec Santa Float Newgate/Meadway

 

Meet at unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Wed 5 Dec Conviviality Evening

 

Note change of time 8pm for 8:30
Thu 6 Dec Santa Float Kingsdown Rd Meet at unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Fri 7 Dec Santa Float Tesco’s 10am – 4pm Santa and 2 collectors on each shift, plus driver to deliver and collect float
Fri 7 Dec Hednesford TC Lights Switch On Santa Float with Santa / Driver and minimum of one Collector meet at unit 4:15pm
Sun 9 Dec Santa Float Church Farm Estate Meet at unit 5pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Mon 10 Dec Santa Float Saints Estate Meet at unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Tue 11 Dec Santa Float Hudson Dr/Norton Lane Meet at unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Wed 12 Dec Santa Float Cannock Wood Meet at unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Wed 12 Dec Conviviality Evening

 

Note change of time 8pm for 8:30
Thu 13 Dec Santa Float Fair Lady Drive Meet at Unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Fri 14 Dec Santa Float Sainsbury’s 10am – 4pm Santa and 2 collectors on each shift, plus driver to deliver and collect float
Sun 16 Dec Santa Float Hunslett Meet at unit 5pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Mon 17 Dec Santa Float Highfield Meet at unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Tue 18 Dec Santa Float St Matthews Meet at unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Wed 19 Dec Santa Float Hammerwich Meet at Cricket Club 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Wed 19 Dec Xmas get together at Hammerwich CC not Park Gate Everyone who have helped Santa are invited with their partners are welcome
Thu 20 Dec Santa Float spare date Meet at unit 5:30pm Santa + Minder, Driver and 4 collectors
Fri 21 Dec Santa Float Morrisons Burntwood 10am – 7pm Santa and 2 collectors on each shift, plus driver to deliver and collect float
Tues 25 Dec Bank Holiday

 

 
Wed 26 Dec Bank Holiday

 

 
Wed 26 Dec No Meeting

 

 

 

 

Tue 1 Jan 2019 Bank Holiday

 

 
Wed 2 Jan No Meeting

 

 
Wed 9 Jan Speaker Kate Simkins- Fundraising for Challenges abroad – Trip to Nepal Partners and guests welcome
Wed 16 Jan Xmas debriefs

 

 
Wed 23 Jan Business Committees

 

 
Wed 30 Jan Speaker TBC

 

Partners and guests all most welcome
Wed 6 Feb Business Committees

 

 
Wed 6 Feb District Council Meeting

 

Mercure Hotel Penkridge
Wed 13 Feb Speaker Fred Austin on the subject “Leaving Moravia “ Partners and Guests welcome
Wed 20 Feb Conviviality Evening

 

 

 
Wed 27 Feb Speaker TBC

 

Partners and guests all most welcome
25 – 30 Feb Race Night tbc

 

Venue tbc
Sun 3 Mar District Disability Fun Day TBC

 

RAF Shawbury
Wed 6 Feb District Council Meeting

 

7:15pm Mercure Hotel Penkridge
Wed 6 Mar Business Committees

 

 
Sat 9 Mar President Elect Briefing TBC

 

9.00am. Mercure Hotel Penkridge
Wed 13 Mar Conviviality Evening

 

 
Wed 20 Mar Conviviality Evening

 

 
Wed 27 Mar Speaker tbc

 

Partners and guests all most welcome
Wed 3 Apr Business Committee

 

 
Wed 10 Apr Santa float meeting-discuss any work required over summer  
Wed 17 Apr Business Committees

 

Preparation of reports for Club AGM
Fri 19 Apr Bank Holiday

 

Paul Harris’s Birthday 1848
Sun 21 Apr Chasewater 10k run TBC

 

8-10 Members for car-parking duties
Mon 22 Apr Bank Holiday

 

 
Wed 24 Apr No Meeting Italian Evening TBC

 

Possibly dining around the world TBC
Fri 26 April Birmingham Hippodrome

“Les Misérables” and Meal

 
Sun 28 Apr Fun Dog Show TBC Chasewater
Wed 1 May Club AGM

Purpose: Receive end-of-year reports from Committee Chairmen and Treasurer, including the budget for the coming year. Elect Honorary Members, confirm the appointment of the Committee Chairmen for 2019/20 and confirm the representatives for the District Council.

Note 1: The 2019/20 Committees replace the 2018/19 Committees immediately following the AGM.

Note 2: The Club AGM must be held before the District Assembly.

Note 3: Potential Honorary Members must be proposed to Club members at least two weeks prior to the AGM.

Sat 5 May District Assembly TBC

 

 
Mon 6 May Bank Holiday

 

 
Wed 8 May No Meeting

 

 
Wed 15 May Business Committees

 

 
Wed 22 May Conviviality Evening

 

Possibly dining around the world
Thu 23 May District Council Meeting

 

7:15pm Mercure Hotel Penkridge
Mon 27 May Bank Holiday

 

 
Wed 29 May No Meeting

 

 
Wed 5 June Business Committees

 

Preparation of reports for Club Assembly
Wed 12 Jun Speaker – Derrek Lamb –

Parkinson’s UK.

Presidents Charity – Cheque Presentation

Partners and guests welcome

 

Wed 19 Jun Club Assembly

 

Purpose: Receive, discuss and fine-tune the Policy and Forward Plans proposed by each Committee Chairman for 2019/20
Wed 26 Jun Conviviality Evening

 

 
Wed 3 July Presidents Hand Over

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Club Officers:

  • President: David Henderson
  • Chairman of the Membership, Press, Publicity and Club Services Committee: Paul Smith (President Elect)
  • Chairman of the Community, Youth Opportunities, Foundation and International Services Committee:               Tony Spencer (Junior Vice President)
  • Secretary & Compliance Officer: Andrew McMillan
  • Speakers Secretary: Paul Ralph
  • Treasurer and Attendance Officer: Richard Poynton
  • Sergeant at Arms & International: Chris Starkey
  • Youth Opportunities & Sports Officer: David Henn
  • Almoner: Paul Smith
  • Foundation: Tony Spencer
  • Communications / Media / PR: Lee Wadlow